One stupid question

General satin related chat. Talk about anything silk/satin related
Freddy1000

One stupid question

Post by Freddy1000 »

Hi,

I'm new in the world of satin. And i have one dumb question.

What's the difference btw satin, silk and polyester ?? They look the same for me :s they can bright a lot
Favourite Models: LEIGH

Favourite Clothing: Long Nightgowns and Long satin dress.

Requests: Duo Sets (girl / girl), More Outfits, Speech.
neverenufsatin

Re: One stupid question

Post by neverenufsatin »

Perhaps I can answer that. Since I was raised with satin and been surrounded by it for all of my 60+ years, I am somewhat of and expert.
Satin, pure satin of days gone by, was made from highly polished cotton. It tended to be light in weight and very strong. It was also very porous allowing body heat to escape. Then after 1950, satin was produced chemically, primarily in Asian countries. Like the real satin of days gone by it is soft, lustrous, and very smooth to the touch particularly the feet since all the body's nerve endings pretty much finish up there, but it tends to have a chemical smell to it which disappears over time and usage. Today's satin is made into different types. Bridal satin is the heaviest used for clothes and bedding but there is an industrial weight satin which is used in upholstery and drapes/curtains. Then there are other grades of satin as well but unlike the old satin, it tends to wear faster, can get pulls easier, particularly from jewelery or animals and depending on the manufacturer, it can be a bit course to the touch. Satin is also a very good insulator from the cold but today's satin needs to be dry cleaned depending on how it's used. By itself it can be hand washed with care.